Legal Law

7 Elements of Interior Design

Interior design is the art of enhancing interiors, including the exterior as well, to achieve a statically pleasing environment for the user. And we can also say that it is the process of shaping the experience of the interior space, the manipulation of the spatial volume and the treatment of the surface to improve human functionality. An interior designer plans, researches, coordinates and manages projects.

There are 7 elements of Interior Design:


Space is one of the most important parts of interior design. The space acts as a foundation on which the entire interior design plan is built. Hence, it is essential that the designer knows the available space, its dimensions and its uses well.

2. Line

Lines are broadly classified into three types: horizontal, vertical, and dynamic. While horizontal lines adorn structures like tables, chairs, and beds, vertical lines can be found on windows and doors, while horizontal lines add a safe feeling to the space, vertical lines convey a free and expansive nature. Dynamic or angular lines, which are action oriented, add drama and can be seen in structures like stairs.

3. Forms

Shapes mean shapes in general, an outline of any three-dimensional object in space. Shapes can be created by combining two or more shapes and can be accentuated with the help of different elements like texture, patterns, and colors.

4. Light

Light is one of the most obvious elements of interior design. Whether natural or artificial, without light, other elements, such as color, texture, and pattern, have no meaning. Light sets the mood and ambiance in a living space and brings out all the other elements, including space, line, and shapes.

5 color

The colors do not need any special presentation. Colors establish an aesthetic affiliation between objects and set the mood. Colors should be chosen based on the psychology and mentality of the inhabitant. For example, red is an excellent option for the dining room, since it stimulates the appetite, and green for the bedroom, since it is the color of tranquility and health. Each color has three distinct characteristics, namely Hue, Value, and Intensity, and an interior designer needs to be well aware of these characteristics in order to make various permutations and combinations. Colors are broadly classified into two categories: primary and secondary colors.

6. Texture

Texture is primarily concerned with surfaces and determines how a typical surface looks and feels. Texture adds depth and interest to a room and defines the feel/look and consistency of a surface. Texture is broadly classified into two types: Visual Texture, where the texture is only visible, and Real Texture, where the texture is seen and felt. Anything to do with textiles like pillowcases, bedspreads, or anything to do with slipcovers like curtains, wall paint, or wallpaper has a texture.

7. pattern

Patterns add interest and life to interior design and work in conjunction with colours. Patterns tell a story of their own and add the elements of continuity and smooth transition in a room. Patterns can be of any shape and are mostly made up of attractive, repeating designs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *